My Backyard Bounty

 

I grow plants for many reasons: to please my eye or to please my soul, to challenge the elements or to challenge my patience, for novelty or for nostalgia, but mostly for the joy in seeing them grow ~ David Hobson

In the summer, I love visiting the local farmers markets. Those are the places where I can find a plethora of freshly harvested organic fruits and vegetables, the farm fresh eggs, the flowers and other wonderful home-made finds. Over the years we have had rather successful and bountiful harvests in our backyard, with the help of my father who has the biggest green thumbs. We have plums, apples, pears, figs, blueberries, raspberries, tomatoes, peppers, green beans, zucchini, cucumbers, cauliflower, broccoli, Gai Lan, squash, brussels sprouts, and herbs such as rosemary, thyme, sage, lemon verbana, mints and oregano. Wow, what a list. I didn’t realize what we have accomplished until I looked at all the pictures.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is absolutely exhilarating going out to my own garden and picking the vegetables and fruits. The Gai Lan was the biggest hit out of everything. They just grew and grew for the whole summer and we never had to buy any produce. I had pounds and pounds of zucchini that I shredded and kept in freezer for making gluten free zucchini breads. I made muffins out of the recipe and they were delicious. Although after a while I just could not look at zucchini anymore.

zucchini-muffin
Gluten free zucchini muffin

I used the heirloom tomatoes for my home-made tomatoes sauce and added all the different vegetables for a pasta dish. The taste was refreshing. I froze the tomato sauce and that lasted for a while too.

Vegetable pasta
Pasta with garden vegetables and home-made tomatoes sauce

Here are some of my tips to ensure a successful harvest. You don’t have to be an expert, just some patience.

  1. Plan ahead and prepare your plots
  2. Watering and caring for them are important so make sure you have someone do that for you when you are away
  3. Just do it and start planting
  4. What are you waiting for? Let’s start planning
Leave a Reply

